South Down U14 Football Tournament

- 14 March 2017 | PE

Tournament Report:

A very successful day for the U14 team as they brought home the South Down Shield.

Group Stage:
NHS vs Shimna College        1-0
NHS vs St Patrick's College  5-0

In the group stage, we were pitted against Shimna Integrated College, Newcastle and St Patrick's College, Banbridge - we eased through the groups with a one nil victory over Shimna. Alex Henning scoring the winner against Shimna and goals from Tyler Dodds, Joshua Wilson, Jack Loughrin and two from Karolis Lukaukus against St Patrick's.

NHS vs Dromore High           1-0

Our Semi-final saw us drawn against the tournament favourites Dromore High. The favourites started brightly but we settled before half time and came out and played our own game in the second half scoring early in the half and holding out for a very satisfying victory. Tyler Dodds with our crucial goal which saw us advance to the final.

NHS vs Kilkeel High              0-0  (NHS won 5-4 on pens)

In the final we came up against Kilkeel High who beat us last season. The game was an even affair and finished 0-0. The match was decided on penalties and Oisin Nicks, Karolis Lukaukas, Alex Henning, Lee Chapman and Tyler Dodds all successfully dispatched their kick and the Shield was ours as we won 5-4 on pens. It was fitting that Tyler scored the winning kick as he was the Newry High School's player of the tournament.

What an amazing improvement from this group of players who really struggled in previous years. This was their first taste of success and such has been their progress that they are now one win away from making it a double - they will play Newbridge in a league decider in the coming weeks.

Congratulations lads, a great day for you all and fully deserved for all your hard work.

Mr Toman's U14 football squad receiving the South Down School's shield! Well done boys!!! #winners

— Newry High PE Dept. (@Newry_High_PE) March 7, 2017


Oisin Nicks (captain),
Chino Abela, Kyle Henning, Joshua Wilson, Karolis Lukaukas, Marek Poppe, Jack Jennings,
Tyler Dodds, Jack Loughrin, Alex Henning, Lee Chapman, Matty Gilchrist, Dominic Dutka.